Accordion Menu Using jQuery


TirthankarTirthankaras are special Siddhas (liberated souls) who has attained omniscience and guides the other souls to save them from the cycles of repeated earth existences (rebirth). Tirthankaras are just ordinary man, born as human, but through their intense practice of kindness, equanimity and meditation, he attains the state of a Tirthankara.

Thus, a Tirthankar is an individual who destroys attachment with all the earthly things and relations, he frees himself absolutely from ignorance, he repays all his previous and this birth's dues of karmas, he detaches himself from all the good and bad, he attains absolute knowledge about present, past, and future, and becomes an omniscient in the process. He becomes a Sidha and frees himself from the cycle of birth and re-birth.

Tirthankaras revitalize the Jain Sangh (four-fold Jain Order) consisting of Sadhus (male saints), Sadhvis (female saints), Shravaks (male householders), and Shravikas (female householders). During every half time cycle, twenty-four persons like us rise to the level of Tirthankara. Every time-span consist of 12 Araah’s (era’s) 1 to 6 in first half cycle and 6 to 1 in second half cycle. Jainism states time has no beginning or end. It moves like the wheel of a cart. There have been an infinite number of time cycles before our present era and there will be an infinite number of time cycles after this age. At the beginning of the twenty first century, we were approximately 2,530 years into the fifth era of the present half cycle i.e. Avasarpini time-span.

The 24 Tirthankaras are considered to be the creator of Jain religion. They are divine elements of Jainism. They have attained all the achievement of ultimate nature including the ultimate knowledge after making vigorous efforts. Their principles are for betterment and welfare of others. Their path is to provide total fearless life and that of non-violence and to distribute love and friendship. Their vision of life is very wide and they have no insistence for anything. Their way of life is for giving up possessive passion and being free from the karmas.

After achieving enlightenment, a Tirthankara shows others the path to enlightenment. The Tirthankara's religious teachings form the Jain canons. The inner knowledge of all Tirthankaras is perfect and identical in every respect, for the teachings of one Tirthankara do not contradict those of another. However, the degree of elaboration varies according to the spiritual advancement and purity of humans during that period. The higher the spiritual advancement and purity of mind, the lower the elaboration required.

At the end of his human life-span, a Tirthankara achieves liberation ('moksha' or 'nirvana'), ending the cycle of infinite births and deaths.

A Tithankara's mother have sixteen (fourteen according to Swetambara Jain Sect) auspicious dreams after her conception. These dreams are as following:

  1. Bull
  2. Elephant
  3. Lion
  4. Goddess Laxmi
  5. Garlands of Flowers
  6. Full Moon
  7. Sun
  8. Auspicious Banner
  9. Auspicious Urn
  10. Lake filled with Lotuses
  11. Milky White Sea
  12. Celestial Vehicle
  13. Heap of Gems
  14. Fire without Smoke
  15. Pair of Fish (According to Digambara Jain Sect only)
  16. Throne (According to Digambara Jain Sect only)
Below we are giving a brief introduction of all 24 Tirthankaras of the present time span i.e. Uttsarpini time-span.



 Birthplace; Consecration



1. Lord Rishabha (Adinath)


Vinittanagari or Ayodhya;
Asthapad or Kailash Parvat

Nabhiraja & Marudevi

Bull or Ox

2. Lord Ajitnath


Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

Jitashatru& Vijayasena


3. Lord Sambhavnath


Shravasti; Sammed Shikhari

Jitari& Susena mata


4. Lord Abhinandannath


Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

Sanvar raja& Siddhartha devi


5. Lord Sumatinath


Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

Meghaprabha& Mangala devi

Curlew or
Red Goose

6. Lord Padmaprabhu


Kaushambi; Sammed Shikharji

Dheeran& Sushima devi


7. Lord Suparshvanath


Varanasi; Sammed Shikharji

Pratishthita& Prithvi devi


8. Lord Chandraprabhu


Chandrapura; Sammed Shikharji

Mahasena raja & Sulakshana


9. Lord Pushpadanta


Kakandi-nagari; Sammed Shikharji

Sugriva raja & Rama devi 


10. Lord Sheetalnath


Mahliapura; Sammed Shikharji

Dridharatha & Sunanda devi


11. Lord Shreyansnath


Simhapuri; Sammed Shikharji

Vimal raja & Vimla devi


12. Lord Vasupujya


Champapuri; Mandargiri parvat, Champapuri

Vasupujya & Vijaya devi


13. Lord Vimalnath


Kampilapura; Sammed Shikharji

Suvratavarma & Shyama devi


14. Lord Anantnath


Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

Harishena & Surjaa devi

Porcupine (Digambara)

15. Lord Dharmanath


Sammed Shikharji

Bhanu raja & Suvrata devi


16. Lord Shantinath


Gajapura or Hastinapuri; Sammed Shikharji

Vishwasena & Aira Devi


17. Lord Kunthunath


Gajapura or Hastinapuri;
Sammed Shikharji

Shoor raja & Srimati devi


18. Lord Arahnath


Gajapura or Hastinapuri;
Sammed Shikharji 

Sudarshana raja & Mitra Devi

Fish (Digambara)

19. Lord Mallinath


Mithila; Sammed Shikharji 

Kumbha raja & Prajavati devi

Urn (Kalasha)
20. Lord Munisuvrata Aparajita-devaloka Rajgriha; Sammed Shikharji Sumatra raja & Shyama Devi Tortoise
21. Lord Naminath Pranata-devaloka Mithila; Sammed Shikharji Vijayaratha raja & Vipula devi

Blue Water Lily or Blue Lotus
22. Lord Neminath Aparajita Shauripura; Mount Girnar (Girnarji) Samudra vijaya & Shiva devi Conch (Shankh)
23. Lord Parshvanath Pranata-devaloka Varanasi; Sammed Shikharji Ashwasena & Vama devi Snake (Naag)
24. Lord Mahaveera Pranata-devaloka

Kundalpur or Chitrakuta; Pavapuri Siddhartha raja (Shreyansa or Yashasvin) & Trishala (Vidchadinna or Priyakarini) Lion